**$28 fee is now being waived for marriage license applications, effective July 1, 2022, through June 30, 2023**

The Office of Vital Statistic contain all vital record (marriage, death, and birth) that have occurred with in the Property of Wenonah.

Certified copies of birth, death, marriage, domestic partners, and civil unions certificates that have occurred within the Borough of Wenonah are available at the Borough’s Office in the Municipal Building located at 1 South West for a fee of $10.00 for the first copy.

All records are filed by year. When requesting a certified copy by mail, please include the date of the event and the person’s name (when requesting a marriage license please provide grooms last name, also include copy of ID and relationship) along with a check made payable to Borough of Wenonah.

If you are unsure of the year or place in New Jersey where the event took place, you can contact the State Registrar’s Office in Trenton, where all records for the State of New Jersey are filed by date and by name. They can be reached at 609-292-4087.

How to apply for a marriage license

Complete the marriage license application form. You may also get an application form at the Local Registrar’s officeYou must sign the application, under oath, in the presence of the issuing authority.

If you are applying for a marriage license, civil union, or domestic partnership, please take note of the following information:

1.    You need to apply in the Municipality where either party resides:
2.    Please bring the following with you when applying for your marriage license:

  • Proof of identity by presenting your driver’s license, passport, or state/federal I.D.
  • Proof of residency by one applicant if a NJ resident
  • Social Security number*
  • A witness, 18 years of age or older
  • The $28 application fee

Your social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential.

Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.

If any of the above-mentioned documents are in a foreign language, they must be accompanied by an English translation. 

There is a 72-hour waiting period between the filing of the application and the issuance of the license. This 72-hour waiting period begins at the time the application is filed with the Local Registrar.

Forms can be downloaded on the State of New Jersey Department of Health website by clicking here

After you apply

There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins when the application is filed with the Local Registrar. There is no 72-hour waiting period for a remarriage; however, you must bring a certified copy of your existing marriage.

The marriage license application is valid for six months from the date accepted unless the Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one year. Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application. If the license expires before being used, a new application must be made, and another $28 fee remitted.

The only exception to this requirement is in the case where a civil and religious ceremony are to be performed on the same day. In this case, the Local Registrar will photocopy the marriage application, marking one “A” and one “B”, and issue the corresponding marriage licenses, marking them “A” and “B” as well. One copy will be used for the religious ceremony and the other for the civil ceremony.

Contact Us

Karen Sweeney, Registrar
Phone: (856) 468-5228 Ext. 102

Huda Ijaz, Registrar
Phone: (856) 468-5228 Ext. 106